Program 5 - Under the Golden Dome

Franklin Swift Billings, Jr.

Franklin Swift Billings, Jr., Representative of Woodstock, Republican, was born on June 5, 1922. Occupation: attorney-at-law. He was educated in the public schools in Woodstock; Milton Academy; Harvard College (S.B., 1943) University of Virginia (L.L.B., 1947). He is married to the former Pauline R. Gillingham and they have two sons and one daughter. He is a member of the Grange; Masons; Shrine; American, Vermont, and Windsor County Bar Associations. He has been village trustee, town agent, selectman, planning commission, school director and library trustee. He was Assistant Secretary of the Senate in 1949, 1951, and 1953, executive Clerk, 1955; Secretary of the Senate in 1957 and 1959; Secretary of Civil and Military Affairs, 1959 and 1960; Judge of the Hartford Municipal Court, 1955-1962; clerk of the Woodstock Union High School District, 1958-1962; and a member of the Woodstock Planning commission, 1958-62.

He served with the British 8th Army in the 6th Armored division, 1943 to 1946. In 1966 he was appointed to the Superiour Court and he served until 1975 when he was appointed to the Vermont Supreme Court. He was Chief Justice from 1982-84. In 1984 he was appointed a U.S. District Judge of Vermont, serving as Chief Judge from 1989-97 when he took Senior Status and remains as a Senior District Judge today. Member of the House of 1961, and member and Speaker of the House of 1963 and 1965.

Richard Walker Mallary

Richard Walker Mallary of Braintree, Republican, was born at Springfield, Massachusetts, on February 21, 1929 and located in Fairlee in 1942. Occupation: dairy farmer; served as commissioner of administration January, 1971 to June, 1971 when he was appointed secretary of the agency of Administration. He was educated in elementary schools in Springfield, Massachusetts; Bradford Academy, Bradford, Vermont and Dartmouth College (A.B., 1949). He is married to the former Jean Brownell and between them they have seven children. He served as vice-chairman of the constitutional revision committee, 1968, and member of the Farm Bureau, Holstein-Friesian Association, Republican town committee and trustee of Eastern States exposition. He was chairman of the Legislative Council, 1965-66; was selectman from 1951 to 1953, serving trustee of Vermont State Colleges, 1962-65; a member of the Champlain Waterway Commission, 1963-65; and Emergency Board, 1963-66. Secretary of Administration, 1972-80. President and C.E.O. of Vermont Electric Power Company.  Member of the House from Fairlee in 1961, 1963 and 1965. Elected representative from District 34 for 1966 and 1967. Speaker of the House, 1966-1968. Member of the Senate from Orange County in 1969-70. Representative to the House, 1999-2000.

Gretchen Morse

Gretchen Morse of Charlotte, Chittenden County, Republican, was born in Hyannis, Massachusetts on November 17, 1943 and became resident of present town in January, 1971. She is married to James L. Morse and they have two daughters. She has educated in elementary schools in Falmouth, Massachusetts; Lawrence High School, Falmouth, Massachusetts; Colby-Sawyer College (A.A., 1963); University Of Vermont (B.S., 1975). Member of: National Council of State Human Services Administrators. Past member of : Governor’s Commission On the Status of Women, Executive Committee; Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention Advisory Group; Governor’s Commission on Children and Youth. Received “Distinguished Service Award” from U.V.M. College of Education and Social Services, 1983. Member of the House, 1977-78, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1983-84.

Stephan Morse

Stephan Morse of Newfane, Windham County, Republican, was born in Springfield, Vermont on April 1, 1947 and became resident of present town in November, 1947. He is married to Jill Spiro and they have one son. He is President and C.E.O. of the Windham Foundation. He was educated in elementary schools in Newfane, Vermont: Leland & Gary High School; University of Vermont (B.A., 1969). Member of: chairman, Windham County Republican Committee; executive, Republican State Committee. He has been Newfane Zoning Administrator, 1971-74; board of selectman, 1974-77, chairman, 1975-77. He was Assistant Majority Leader, 1979; Majority Leader, 1980. Speaker of the House, 1981-82, 1983-84. Member of the House, 1977-78, 1979-80., 1981-82, 1983-84.

Timothy J. O’Connor, Jr.

Timothy J. O’Connor, Jr. of Brattleboro, Democrat, was born at Brattleboro, Vermont on December 13, 1936. Occupation: attorney at law. He was educated at St. Michael’s Elementary and High School; Holy Cross College, Worchester, Massachusetts (Bachelor of Arts and Science); and Georgetown University of Law, Washington, D.C. (Law Degree). He is married to the former Martha Hannum and they have one son and two daughters. Member of: Elks, Knights of Columbus, American Bar Association and Vermont Bar Association. He has been a member of State Board of Mental Health, 1967-73; trustee of University of Vermont, 1973-79; Brattleboro Municipal Court Judge, 1965-67. Member of House from District 4-3 for 1969-70, 1971-72, 1973-74 and from Windham 4-3 for 1975-76, 1977-78, and 1979-80. Speaker of the House, 1975-76, 1977-78 and 1979-80.

Ralph G. Wright

Wright, Ralph G. of Bennington, Bennington County, Democrat, was born in Arlington, Massachusetts on June 10, 1935 and became resident of present town in September 1968. He is married to Catherine M. Wright, and they have three daughters and one son. Occupation: teacher. He was educated at Boston University (A.B.); Framingham State, Framingham, Massachusetts (M.Ed.). He served in the U.S. Marine Corps, Korean Conflict. Member of the House: 1979-1994. Speaker of the House: 1985-.1994.